Books: The Cheapest Vacation You Can Buy











{November 10, 2011}   {Review} Where You Are by Tammara Webber (Between the Lines #2)

From Goodreads: Graham Douglas doesn’t do romantic relationships, but he was knocked for a loop when he met Emma Pierce on the set of his last film. As they grew closer, he did everything in his power to keep from falling for a girl being pursued by superstar Reid Alexander. Now home in New York, his life is once again under control, until Emma appears and shows him how not over her he is.

Emma Pierce is forsaking an up-and-coming Hollywood career to embark on a life she’s only dreamed of—the life of a regular girl. After spending months burying her feelings for the two night-and-day guys who vied for her heart while filming her last movie, a twist of fate puts her in a coffee shop in the middle of Manhattan with the one she still misses.

Brooke Cameron was a fresh-faced Texas girl when she arrived in LA. Now she’s a beach sitcom star turned conceited heiress on the big screen. Having just survived three months on location with her ex—Hollywood’s reigning golden boy—she’s older and wiser and has set her sights on her close friend Graham. The only thing standing in her way is the girl he can’t forget.

Reid Alexander can sum up his life in one word: boring. Between film projects, there’s little going on outside of interviews, photo shoots, and the premiere of the film he finished last fall. The next-to-last thing he expects is to get a second chance with Emma, the girl who rejected him. The last thing he expects is for his still-bitter-ex to be the one to offer it to him on a platter.

___________________________________________________________________________________

Webber is a master storyteller, engaging her readers from start to finish as she relays the story of teen celebrities in this sequel to Between the Lines.  This is the second novel of Webber’s that I’ve read, and it’s the second time that I’ve been transported into her characters’ world, making vast connections and figuratively becoming a part of the story.  Webber utilizes a first person, multiple narrator style in her novels, allowing the reader to make deeper connections as he/she sees each situation from all sides.  This allows the reader to make informed decisions about characters, while also increasing the anxiety and tension the reader feels as the story unfolds.  I love having this connection with characters, and though I spent a majority of this novel angry at two of them, I loved every minute of the experience, especially as it all came to a head at the end.

When I read one of Webber’s books, reality falls away and I become enraptured in her fictional worlds. While reading Where You Are, I felt like a fly on the wall, able to see the intricate workings of the whole story from each character’s point of view, while also feeling the tension and passion along with them.  This novel is a great follow up to Between the Lines, picking up exactly where the first novel left off, and the reader is given much more background information about the characters, especially Brooke and Graham, which gives readers much food for thought as the story unfolds.

Although the novel was a rollercoaster ride of emotions for both me and the four characters within in the novel, I will note that I am happily satisfied with the conclusion of this novel.  I am also extremely excited to read the next book in the series, Good For You, which will deviated from the storyline of both Between the Lines and Where You Are, following only one of our beloved characters as he/she moves on (no spoilers).  It is also my understanding that a new character will be introduced, which is intriguing in and of itself!  I’ve read the sneak peek of this third novel, which is thankfully located at the very end of Where You Are (past the acknowledgements) and I’m really looking forward to it.  And, though I don’t necessarily want to see the Graham, Emma, Reid, and Brooke chapter close, I am ready to follow other characters on new adventures, mainly because Webber is just that phenomenal when it comes to writing books and giving them sound, perfect endings.  December can’t come fast enough! Five stars!

5 stars

I received a copy of this novel from the author in exchange for an honest review.

Tammara_Webber_Fan_Club

Check out all the books in this awesome series!

Between the Lines (#1)

Where You Are (#2)

Good For You (#3)

Here Without You (#4)



Anita Powers says:

I loved this book just as much as the first one in this series. I was so happy that Emma and Graham are together, I loved them. I really enjoyed your review and I felt like many points you made were the same ones I had. Thanks



[…] this novel doesn’t follow all the beloved characters from Between the Lines and Where You Are, it does follow Reid Alexander, the self assured, conceited, yet dreamy actor we all love to hate, […]



I really want to start this series. I have the first book sitting on my kindle but actually finding time to get around to it is hard. lol. I’m glad you enjoyed the second novel though and it sounds very emotional…..just what I like. :) Awesome review!



The first one is the best, in my opinion, but I love them both!!! Can’t wait to hear your thoughts when you read it! :)



Great review! I have read the first in the series, Between the Lines and after reading your review, I am even more excited to read the second! Thanks:)



Comments are closed.

et cetera