Books: The Cheapest Vacation You Can Buy











{June 15, 2012}   {Review} Sweet Evil by Wendy Higgins (The Sweet Trilogy #1)

From Goodreads: Embrace the Forbidden

What if there were teens whose lives literally depended on being bad influences?

This is the reality for sons and daughters of fallen angels.

Tenderhearted Southern girl Anna Whitt was born with the sixth sense to see and feel emotions of other people. She’s aware of a struggle within herself, an inexplicable pull toward danger, but Anna, the ultimate good girl, has always had the advantage of her angel side to balance the darkness within. It isn’t until she turns sixteen and meets the alluring Kaidan Rowe that she discovers her terrifying heritage and her willpower is put to the test. He’s the boy your daddy warned you about. If only someone had warned Anna.

Forced to face her destiny, will Anna embrace her halo or her horns?

____________________________________________________

Let’s just say that I am extremely excited and thankful that this is the first book in the series, and that a sequel is on the way, because I love it so much, and I must have more Kaidan!  Seriously, if you haven’t read this amazing, enticing, sexy, alluring novel yet, what are you waiting for?  You must!  You must!  It’s so, so good!

Higgins blew me away with her debut novel, in case you couldn’t tell, and I am dying for more!  The premise for the novel intrigued me so much, and I’m glad I didn’t put this one off any longer in my TBR pile, because it’s a pure gem and needs to be read by all, sooner rather than later!

I really enjoyed getting to know Anna.  I’d say that her penchant for rules and all that is good makes her less than believable, but I’ve met truly good teenagers that feel exactly as Anna does about lying, swearing, sex before marriage… and the list goes on.  I know it seems far-fetched in today’s society, but there still are truly good people out there, and I’ve taught a handful of them.  Yes, it blows my mind, but is actually extremely refreshing, and I enjoyed this aspect of Anna’s personality a lot, especially as she begins to struggle between her beliefs and her true nature!

Bad boy Kaidan is to die for, and I really enjoyed getting to know more about him and his family.  As he divulges the truth about himself, Anna begins to understand who she is, and what she is supposed to do.  As she does, and her goody persona begins to decline in the name of “work” (and to save her life), I became even more enamored with the pair—they are complete opposites, but truth be told, there is more good to Kaidan than he allows others to see.

There is a lot of sexual tension in this novel, but I still feel like it was clean.  With Kaidan’s father being a top fallen angel, promoting sexual relations, and Kaidan being a gorgeous young man, you can see where things are going, but the fact that Higgins doesn’t run rampant with sexual escapades and play by play details makes me have even more respect for her as an author.  This is a YA novel, after all, and explicit sex isn’t needed, so kudos to Higgins!  Though the frustrations are there, and enough is stated for the reader to know what is happening/being alluded to, Higgins leaves it PG 13, for which I am thankful.

I am eagerly awaiting the next installment in this amazing series, and I highly recommend this novel!  Five stars!

5 stars

I purchased a copy of this novel from Amazon.

Wendy Higgins Writes



There is a bad boy in this story :O I so got to read this! Thanks for the great review!



Alexis says:

Love the button! *I Sigh for Kai*

We all sigh for him! And swoon a little (okay, a lot)! Awesome review! Glad you loved it!



Jolene A says:

Kaiden sounds amazing! Can’t wait to read this, great review!



I am looking forward to reading this book! I have heard so many mixed reviews of this book. Yours has finally convinced me that it is a must.

Konstanz SIlverbow
nothoughts2small.blogspot.com



Vivian M says:

Aww Kaidan… Loved him! Cannot wait for the sequel! Can’t resist the bad boys, and the good girl in this book is great too!



Celine says:

Need to read this book! Why can I not find it!?!? Stupid library doesn’t have enough books!! >:(



This is is seriously worth the buy. :)



I am so happy the next 2 book were picked up!!! I loved Sweet Evil and cant wait for more Kaiden :)



Dovile says:

I’m quite into fallen angels, so needless to say it’s already on my wishlist. And I love the cover!



Oh thank you so much for that lovely review!! I’ve had this on my might-possibly-read-when… pile, not sure if I would like it or not and your review swayed me! I will have to read it for sure!! Thank you! :D



I don’t know . . . the whole “sex is bad thing” is kind of a turnoff–no pun intended! Teens who engage in sexual activity aren’t evil–just human, as are we all.



Becky says:

Ok you got me. Adding it to the wish list and buying it soon!!



Comments are closed.

et cetera