Books: The Cheapest Vacation You Can Buy











{July 20, 2012}   {ARC Review} Circle of Silence by Carol M. Tanzman

From Goodreads: THE BIGGEST STORY OF MY LIFE COULD BE HOW IT ENDS It’s my turn to run a “Campus News” crew, and I’ve put together a team that can break stories wide open. And Washington Irving High has a truly great one to cover, if only we can find a lead.

A secret society has formed in our school. It announced its presence with pranks: underwear on the flagpole, a toilet in the hallway, cryptic notes. A circle of silence keeps the society a mystery. No one knows its members, agenda or initiation secrets-until a student lands in the hospital under “strange” circumstances.

I “will” blow this story wide open and stop others from being hurt…or worse. And while my ex, Jagger, might want to help, I don’t trust him yet. (And, no, not because of our past together. That is “not” important to this story.)

But whether you find me, Valerie Gaines, reporting in front of the camera, or a victim in the top story of the newscast…be sure to watch “Campus News” at 9:00 a.m. this Friday.

_________________________________________

This is a highly entertaining, well written mystery novel that kept my attention from start to finish.  All the characters were amazing, and I loved trying to figure out the truth behind MP and their pranks, which become more sadistic as they continue.  Tanzman really is a gifted storyteller, and I can’t wait to read more by her as I anticipate her other novel, Dancergirl, is probably just as riveting.

I really love Valerie. Yes, she makes a few really stupid decisions all in the name of a story, but her dedication and yearning to be number one, never losing sight of her goals, is what makes her such a great character!  And the tension between her and Jagger… yikes!  Though I loved to hate him, I still really liked him as well, which is a bit ironic, but…

Not knowing who to trust throughout this novel, I has many theories about the identities of those in MP, but even when a really telling piece of evidence came up, I didn’t put two and two together until Valerie figured it out.  In my opinion, any writer who can keep me constantly guessing and highly engaged is a literary god/dess, and Tanzman fits the bill.  I highly suggest everyone read this amazing novel. Five stars.

Harlequin has been extremely gracious in allowing me to read an ARC of this novel, via Netgalley, prior to its release on July 24, 2012.



MonaG says:

Thanks for the great review :) I hadn’t heard about this book until I saw it here. It sounds awesome. I love books that keep me guessing and sexual tension is always fun to read about.

I am somehow fascinated by secret societies and yet they are creepy. I’ve seen the movie Skulls and I recently read a book, The Sixes, by Kate White relating to the same topic. The Sixes is set at a university and it’s also a good read. I would recommend it. It was the first book I read by White but it definitely won’t be the last.



Awesome review. I completely agree about Tanzman. I’ve read Dancergirl and it’s amazing. I have yet to read this one but I understand it’s a companion novel of sorts, in that it takes place at the same high school as Dancergirl.



Comments are closed.

et cetera