Books: The Cheapest Vacation You Can Buy











{September 11, 2012}   {Review} Storm by Brigid Kemmerer (Elemental #1)

From Goodreads: Becca Chandler is suddenly getting all the guys, all the ones she doesn’t want. Ever since her ex-boyfriend spread those lies about her. Then she saves Chris Merrick from a beating in the school parking lot. Chris is different. Way different: he can control water just like his brothers can control fire, wind, and earth. They’re powerful. Dangerous. Marked for death.

And now that she knows the truth, so is Becca.

Secrets are hard to keep when your life’s at stake. When Hunter, the mysterious new kid around school, turns up with a talent for being in the wrong place at the right time, Becca thinks she can trust him. But then Hunter goes head-to-head with Chris, and Becca wonders who’s hiding the most dangerous truth of all.

The storm is coming.

____________________________________________

This is one of those books that steals you away from reality, wrapping you up in its enticing story and captivating you long after the very last page.  I can’t believe I didn’t know about this series sooner (I became aware of it one week prior to going to PAYA 2012) and I’m so very glad that I found it.  Kemmerer is a fantastic writer, an epic storyteller with such a vivid imagination.  This story, with the element manipulation, romance, feuds, and life threatening situations is a must read for all!  A. Must. Read.

Chris Merrick is the youngest of his brothers.  He’s the water elemental, just coming into himself and attempting to fully harness his element, while his older brothers, Gabriel (Fire), Nick (Air), and Michael (Earth) all work to hide their abilities from all prying eyes.  As a family of full elementals, considered the most dangerous by partial elementals, the Merrick boys have much at stake—they’re not supposed to be alive, no full elemental is, because they’re too unpredictable and dangerous, even if they don’t mean to be, and the teenage years, with learning to control themselves, are the hardest.

Chris and his brothers are doing the best they can, but with their elements constantly beckoning to them and the partial elementals badgering them from every side, things have a tendency to go from bad to worse, especially when they can’t even get along with each other.

I loved Chris.  I loved all the Merrick boys, but Chris is the main character in this novel and he really steals the show.  He’s extremely well written and I loved watching him grow and mature throughout the novel, especially as he’s got so much to contend with.  It’s not easy being a teenager, and Kemmerer does a phenomenal job fleshing Chris out to the point that the reader really feels like s/he’s a part of the story.  Becca is another phenomenal character and I highly enjoyed watching her slowly figure things out as the story progressed.  I kept wishing I was her… her life, while not all glitz and glamour, is so much more exciting than mine… not to mention she’s hanging around five seriously sexy guys… In terms of all the characters, I really love that not everyone is what they seem in this novel, and while I was able to guess who was behind what on occasion, I was still floored by the revelations Kemmerer sets forth as the story winds down.

Another aspect I love about this series is that each novel (and novella) focuses on a different character, so even though the story is moving forward as it would in any series, we’re seeing it through the perspective of a different character.  While Storm focuses on Chris and Becca, Elemental focuses on Michael, giving the reader his back-story. Fearless focuses on Hunter’s back-story, and Spark focuses on Gabe (who I’m totally enamored with, btw).  I think it’s so cool that we get to know each character on a deeper level and I can’t wait to read the rest of the series!!  Five stars.

5 stars

I purchased this novel from Amazon.



[…] making me a fan of Michael Merrick from the get go.  In the first full novel of the series, Storm, I fell in love with all the Merrick’s, learning about their abilities and just how difficult […]



Great review!….I definitely need to read this book now…I definitely can’t wait any longer :)



I really want to read this book, thanks for review, it’s great :D



Beatriz says:

This sounds like and amazing book, one of those that change your life and you dont know how you didn’t found it before :D
Your review is awesome, so jealous that you alredy read this book, I’ve always liked the elements subjects, just love to imagine what I would do with the talent to controlling an element at my will



I have enjoyed all the stories I’ve read about elementals, though from your review, this one seems quite different. I also love that it’s told from a guys POV! I can’t wait to read it!



perla fuentes says:

I love and want to read



Amanda S. says:

I’m glad you said great things about this book cause I just got it and hoped it was going to be as good as it sounds :)



Wow! This looks a great read. I like how he and his brothers can control the elements :) Definitely going to add it to my TBR :)



Fantastic! I’m glad you found this series and fell in love with it! If you think you want to be Becca, just wait until SPARK. You’ll want to be Layne because of Gabriel!!! I love him. Lol. You know, Brigid will be at the Ellicott City B&N?



Yep! I’ve met her and she’s coming to my school to talk to my book club and GT/AP classes. I’m so stoked! She’s wonderful!



Comments are closed.

et cetera